Tucker and Dale vs. Evil – My kind of horror

Dear iTunes,

You are going to be the death of me. Or at least the reason why I never leave my house again. Since you began offering rentals of films currently in theaters or not yet on DVD, I don’t go to the movie theater anymore. No whining babies at horror movies. No texting teens. No screaming weenies scared by the lamest of boos.

Why am I complaining???

Love,

Mindy

This movie rocks!

Seriously, though, iTunes and Amazon is offering the ability to rent some movies in limited release or not yet on DVD. Which is pretty fricken sweet. That’s how I got to see the amazing horror-comedy Tucker and Dale vs. Evil.

The film stars one of my favorites, Alan Tudyk. You know, that guy from “Firefly” and Serenity and 28 Days Later (the Sandra Bullock movie, not the rage-infection movie). So, that got me excited before I even saw the trailer. (Is that not the greatest trailer ever?)

In case you haven’t seen the trailer, the premise is awesome. Two hicks are headed out to the country to turn their summer home from a rat hole into a relaxing cabin in the woods. Along the way, they run into a group of college kids looking for what every college kid does during a campus trip: booze, bongs and scary stories. Too bad they don’t realize that the kids believe they’re scary freaks.

The situation is further complicated after one of the kids, Allison (played by Katrina Bowden), accidentally injures herself while preparing to go skinny dipping. Tucker and Dale save her from drowning, only to be accused of murdering her. But the mistaken identity doesn’t stop there. The kids, wanting to avenge Allison, decide to take on Tucker and Dale, only to accidentally off themselves.

I nearly died laughing at this.

I am head over heels in love with the originality of this film. Mistaken identity and hysteria combine to bring a hilarious tale. I watched this while sick, and even though it hurt, I laughed so hard. The deaths are many and funny.

Tudyk and Tyler Labine make a perfect team in playing Tucker and Dale. They play off each other so well. And poor Dale (Tudyk). He seriously gets the crap beat out of him throughout. But he comes out looking pretty in the end (Watch and you’ll understand).

Okay, so this technically isn’t a film I saw on Netflix. It’s not on DVD until November, but it is a great film that I absolutely had to share with you. You need to see this film. Not “you should” but “you need.” I promise it is completely worth it.

If I’m wrong, I’ll buy you ice cream.